Goto Main Content

Select Folders:

Article Content

1.Signed on April 4, 1998; Entered into force on April 4, 1998.
The National Science Council of the Republic of China and the A-
cademy of Finland (hereinafter referred to as the Parties), with
the object of furthering scientific relations between Taiwan and
Finland, have agreed on the following provisions:

The Parties shall, within their spheres of competence, promote
and support cooperation between scientists, scientific institut-
ions and universities of both countries in all fields of science
The cooperation shall be based on direct contacts between scien-
tists and research teams of both countries.

The Parties shall encourage scientific cooperation in joint res-
earch projects and participation in scientific symposia, worksh-
ops and research training courses in Taiwan and in Finland.

The Parties shall encourage the exchange of information and exp-
erience on evaluation of science and funding procedures.

The Parties agree to support visits of scientists to both count-
In the framework of this Agreement the Parties shall finance on-
ly visits of scientists who are invited by scientists or scient-
ific institutions of the receiving country.
The Parties will nominate and inform the other Party of the vis-
its of scientists or joint research projects.

Each Party shall bear the costs of its own participation in the
scientific cooperation based on Articles I, II, III and IV of t-
his Agreement, unless agreed otherwise.

This Agreement shall come into force upon signature by both Par-
ties. It shall continue to be valid unless either Party notifies
the other of its intention to terminate the Agreement. Such not-
ification shall be made in writing at least six months in advan-

This Agreement may be amended by mutual agreement through excha-
nge of letters.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorized, have
signed this Agreement.

Done at Taipei on April 4, 1998 in duplicate in the English lan-

[Signed] [Signed]
Jenn-Tai Hwang, Ph.D. Reijo Vihko, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairman President
National Science Council Academy of Finland
Republic of China Republic of Finland